Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 27, 2024, 08:28:40 am
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
News: Brian Fein is now blogging weekly!  Make sure to check the homepage for his latest editorial.
+  The Dolphins Make Me Cry.com - Forums
|-+  TDMMC Forums
| |-+  Off-Topic Board
| | |-+  Net Metering bill in Florida.
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Net Metering bill in Florida.  (Read 786 times)
Dave Gray
Administrator
Uber Member

It's doo-doo, baby!

26384964 davebgray@comcast.net davebgray floridadavegray
WWW Email
« on: March 11, 2022, 01:39:14 pm »

I don't know if this affects any of you, but a bill just passed in Florida that makes it way less cost-effective to run solar panels.

I am still learning the ins and outs.  ...but basically, you currently use something called Net Metering, where if you create more electricity than you use (which you do in the Summer months), you sell it to your neighbor, after the Power Company takes their cut.  Then, you get a credit that you use in the winter months when you aren't generating as much electricity.
 The new law will make it so that's not happening the same way.  It's a huge blow to me, as I'm working on getting panels instead and this totally changes the economics of it.

It could still get vetoed by Desantis and there's a lot of push back from solar industries and it's a popular system.   Jeez, I hope so.  That would really suck.  This seems like it was just lobbyists for FPL making this happen.

I drink your milkshake!
MyGodWearsAHoodie
Global Moderator
Uber Member

« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2022, 02:01:37 pm »

Make no mistake Florida just voted that it wants to increase US dependantcy on imported oil and accelerating the flooding of its coastline to the benefit of for profit utilities.

There are two rules for success:
 1. Never tell everything you know.
Phishfan
Global Moderator
Uber Member

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2022, 02:07:17 pm »