Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 28, 2024, 07:40:35 pm
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
News: Brian Fein is now blogging weekly!  Make sure to check the homepage for his latest editorial.
+  The Dolphins Make Me Cry.com - Forums
|-+  TDMMC Forums
| |-+  Off-Topic Board
| | |-+  COVID and offices
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: COVID and offices  (Read 894 times)
Fau Teixeira
Administrator
Uber Member

« on: July 21, 2021, 02:50:56 pm »

I work as a software developer lead at a manufacturer. We make things, all these things are made in the USA. We outsource 0. Which is cool to me, we're well run and we're doing pretty well. There's no COVID triggered work from home debate in a factory .. things are physical, they need building, welders need to weld, stuff like that.

My side however is not physical, I work on software and we've had an interesting time with trying to hire post-covid.  We pay well for the area, so it isn't an issue of compensation. But just yesterday I interviewed a pretty decent candidate and he insisted he would only work at a 100% remote position. We have software / hardware integration points so it's not like you can avoid being at the factory 100% of the time. Today I interviewed another candidate for a different senior leadership position who wants to leave his current job because they won't allow him to work 100% remote.

I'm seeing this 1st hand. qualified candidates are valuing remote work way more than in office work. Even tho our development staff is remote currently and has been for months and is projected to be until maybe sometime in 2022, the fact that we may switch next year into a hybrid model has people turning away from the positions.

I'm sure this is way way waaaaaay more prevalent in software development than other industries, but has anyone else seen this in their work?
Spider-Dan
Global Moderator
Uber Member

Bay Area Niner-Hater

« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2021, 04:46:07 pm »