Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2024, 07:16:46 am
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
News: Brian Fein is now blogging weekly!  Make sure to check the homepage for his latest editorial.
+  The Dolphins Make Me Cry.com - Forums
|-+  TDMMC Forums
| |-+  Off-Topic Board
| | |-+  Anyone here familiar with tax law regarding inherited IRAs?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Anyone here familiar with tax law regarding inherited IRAs?  (Read 985 times)
pondwater
Uber Member

« on: December 09, 2021, 04:45:38 pm »

Anyone here familiar with tax law regarding inherited IRAs?

Dave Gray
Administrator
Uber Member

It's doo-doo, baby!

26384964 davebgray@comcast.net davebgray floridadavegray
WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2021, 09:26:09 am »

Yes, I'm dealing with that now with my Dad's.  I'm not an expert, but I set up a separate IRA and have had to schedule releases of money to avoid getting taxed at 50%.

Did you have a specific question?

I drink your milkshake!
pondwater
Uber Member

« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2021, 03:17:33 pm »

Yes, I'm dealing with that now with my Dad's.  I'm not an expert, but I set up a separate IRA and have had to schedule releases of money to avoid getting taxed at 50%.

Did you have a specific question?
My father passed away in September of 2020. All of his accounts were Transfer on Death and split equally between me and my 2 brothers. Only one of the accounts was an IRA. When he died, his IRA account was converted into 3 separate IRA-BDA accounts in our names. It was my understanding that since we're not "Eligible Designated Beneficiaries" we subject to the new 10 year rule.